More Tips on Saving Money

There are so many ways to save money. I just wish people would take action on all the information out there.

I’ll start with my decision to cut the cable. I bought a converter box and a digital antenna, and now my TV shows are free. The primary reason for this decision was not to save money; I determined I was not getting value for my money. Gone are all the duplicate channels, and the shopping channels, and the foreign language news from the former Soviet Republic of Georgia, and the ever-increasing cable bills. I figure over my lifetime I will have saved enough to buy a new car.

Here are some innovative ideas: the guy who parks his RV in front of his business with a sign on the side. He’s saving the monthly storage fee for that RV and attracting business at the same time. I know another guy who pays someone to house sit and pet sit when he goes on trips. Costs a bit less than doggie daycare and boarding; the pup is happier at home, and the house is better protected.

Money Magazine is a great resource for family finances. I never fail to find something in each issue which is worth passing along to my financial planning clients. Technology has opened all sorts of doors so you can save money. You can take a picture of a price code with your smart phone and find out how much the item costs in nearby stores. Before you shop, google “your store and coupons.” Information on saving money is everywhere on the Internet. We even have daily coupons and deals sent to us.

PikesPeakontheCheap.com sends me an email each day. Lot’s of good information. Couple weeks back they had an article on a topic near and dear to my heart: Are we drinking ourselves into debt? No, not cocktails, but coffee and water. Americans drink just over 3 cups of coffee a day. If made at home, the cost is 13 cents a cup, but we tend to splurge and spend $1500-$2800 a year on coffee, that $1.50 to $2.50 a cup. And many spend much more. A glass of water from the tap is virtually free, but Americans spend about $1400 each year on bottled water. Time to be smart when we order a coffee or drink a glass of water.

The options to save are out there. We just need to do a little planning before we buy things.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

So You Want to Be a Financial Advisor

I recently had the pleasure of speaking with a Financial Advisor. I am always interested in learning what entices different individuals to pursue a certain career. She explained that she had always been interested in money and what it... Continue →